First Time Vehicle Registration in New York
New York Vehicle Registration
All New York vehicles must be titled and registered to an individual or business. They do NOT need to be registered to the vehicle owner and may be registered in more than one name.
Before registering a vehicle, you must first get it insured. You will need to submit proof of insurance when you register. The registration process must be completed within 180 days of obtaining insurance.
When you purchase a new or used vehicle from a dealership, the paperwork will often be completed by the dealer.
If you move from another state and take your vehicle, you’ll have 30 days to register your vehicle in New York.
Register a Vehicle in New York
After you get insurance for your new vehicle, you’ll have to submit some documents to the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) to register your vehicle.
If you can, consider making a reservation for your DMV trip ahead of time.
Visit your local DMV office and provide*:
- Your New York driver’s license (cannot be expired more than 2 years) or other acceptable form of ID.
- Power of attorney (if you are not the owner).
- A NY insurance card (it will have a barcode on it).
- A completed Application for Vehicle Registration (MV-82).
- A completed Statement of Transaction - Sale or Gift of a Motor Vehicle, Trailer, All-Terrain Vehicle (ATV), Vessel (Boat), or Snowmobile (DTF-802).
- The bill of sale (even if the vehicle was a gift). You may create one using the Vehicle Bill of Sale (MV-912) form.
- A Statement of Transaction – Sale or Gift of Motor Vehicle, Trailer, All-Terrain Vehicle (ATV), Vessel (Boat), or Snowmobile (DTF-802) completed by both the buyer and seller (if the vehicle was purchased from a private party).
- The certificate of title.
- A completed Sales Tax Exemption (DTF-803) form if:
- You were not a resident of New York when the vehicle was purchased.
- You are a member of the NY resident and a member of the Armed Forces who does NOT currently reside in New York state.
- A completed Sales Tax Paid in Another State (DTF-804) form if you paid out-of-state sales tax.
- Payment for the applicable fees.
*The New York DMV has a useful checklist for making sure you have the right documents for registering a variety of different vehicles.
Register a New York Vehicle Without a Title
There are several reasons why you may need to register a vehicle in New York when you don’t possess the title.
In many instances, the owner can simply request a duplicate title by completing an Application for Registration or Title (MV-82) form before transferring ownership.
To register a vehicle bought at a police or Marshal auction you must provide the the documents required for registering all vehicles (except for the title certificate) as well as:
- A copy of the notice of sale.
- The newspaper ad offering the sale. This must contain the:
- Model year and make of the vehicle.
- Vehicle identification number (VIN).
- Newspaper title.
- A statement claiming all laws were followed regarding the public notice of sale, written by the Sheriff or Marshal.
If you purchased the vehicle in New York City, you must ALSO provide:
- A copy of the judgement giving the seller authority to sell the vehicle
- A statement from the seller claiming an attempt was made to contact the owner or lienholder of the vehicle prior to sale.
New York Registration Fees
- Plate and registration transfer fee: $10.
- Original plate fee: $25.
- Title certificate fee: $50.
Registration fees are based on the weight class of the vehicle and whether they are considered commercial or passenger vehicles. Taxes vary depending on the county of residency.