Vehicle Registration in Connecticut
Connecticut drivers are required to title and register their vehicles through the CT Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV). There are a few reasons you may need to register a vehicle for the first time. The most common reasons include:
- Moving to Connecticut from out-of-state.
- Purchasing a vehicle.
First-Time Vehicle Registration: New Connecticut Residents
You have 60 days from establishing Connecticut residency to title and register the vehicle.
Here’s how you transfer the title and register your out-of-state vehicle in Connecticut:
- First, get an emissions test or a vehicle identification number (VIN) inspection. Emissions tests are required for vehicles with a model year of 2016 or older.
- Then, contact your lienholder or lessee (if applicable) and have them complete this form and mail your title and the form to the address provided. If the vehicle is leased, you will need power of attorney to transfer the vehicle title.
- Wait 5 business days after you receive confirmation that the items in step 2 were received by the DMV before visiting your local branch (if applicable).
- Visit your local DMV office (make an appointment first) and provide your:
- Proof of insurance.
- Out-of-state title (if the vehicle has no lien).
- Inspection report (provided by the mechanic that completed your emissions inspection or VIN verification).
- Completed Connecticut Registration and Title Application (H-13B).
- Payment for the applicable plate, title, and registration fees.
Register a Vehicle Purchased in Connecticut
When you buy a vehicle from a Connecticut dealership, generally the paperwork is handled for you. When you purchase a vehicle from a private seller, you’ll have to visit the Connecticut DMV and provide your:
- Proof of insurance.
- Completed Connecticut registration and Title Application (H-13B).
- Completed Bill of Sale (H-31).
- Certificate of Title (must be completed and signed by the vehicle seller).
- Payment for the registration, title, and plate fees.
CT Title and Registration Fees
- Registration fee for passenger vehicles, SUVs, and vans: $120.
- Plate fee: $5.
- Title fee: $25.
- Clean Air Act fee: $15.
- Emissions exemption fee (if the vehicle is 4 years old or newer): $40.
- Emissions test fee for (out-of-state vehicles only): $20.