Skip to main content

First Time Vehicle Registration in Virginia

Vehicle Registration in Virginia

Virginia drivers are required to title and register their vehicles with the Department of Motor Vehicles. There are several reasons you may need to transfer a title and register a vehicle for the first time. These include:

  • Moving to Virginia from another state.
  • Purchasing a vehicle from a private seller.

In most cases, when you purchase a new or used vehicle at a dealership, the dealer will process the paperwork for you.

How to Title and Register a Vehicle Purchased in Virginia

First, get an emissions inspection on your vehicle if required by your local county or city. When you pass the inspection, the results will be electronically forwarded to the DMV within 24 hours.

Then, visit a DMV center that processes vehicle transactions and provide the:

If you are titling and/or registering on behalf of a business, you first submit a For-Hire Vehicles Registration Request (MCS 115) to the Motor Carrier Services at DMV Headquarters. You should be contacted within 1 business day and told whether more documents are required or if you have been pre-authorized.

Once pre-authorized, visit your local center and provide:

  • The business name.
  • Your position within the company.
  • The Employer Identification Number (EIN).

Title and Register a Vehicle: New VA Residents

When you move to Virginia from another state, you have 30 days to title and register your vehicle.

Title and registration requires:

  • A safety inspection.
  • AND
  • Emissions inspection.

After completing your inspections, visit a DMV transaction center and provide the:

  • Out-of-state title OR registration card (can be expired for less than 12 months). NOTE: Without providing the out-of-state title your vehicle will only be registered and NOT titled in VA.
  • Completed Application for Title and Registration (VSA 17A).
  • Proof of purchase price if the vehicle was bought within the last 12 months. This can be the bill of sale, buyers order, or a written declaration from the seller. A seller may also complete a Vehicle Price Certification (Bill of Sale) (SUT 1) as proof.
  • Payment for the title and registration fee.

Virginia Title and Registration Fees

  • Sales tax: 4.15% of sale price or estimated value (minimum $75). If exempt, bring proof of exemption or complete and submit a Purchaser’s Statement of Tax Exemption (SUT 3).
  • Titling fee: $15.
  • Registration fee for passenger vehicles:
    • 4,000 pounds or less: $30.75.
    • 4,001 to 6,500 pounds: $35.75.
  • Registration fee for pickup trucks:
    • 4,001 to 6,500 pounds: $35.75.
    • 6,501 to 10,000 pounds: $44.75.
  • Registration fee for electric vehicles: $88.20.
  • Registration fee for motorcycles: $44.75.
  • Emissions inspection fee: $2.