Register a Michigan Vehicle

Michigan Vehicle Registration

Michigan vehicle owners must title and register their vehicles with the Secretary of State (SOS) office.

You may have to title and register your vehicle for the first time if you:

  • Purchase a new vehicle.

OR

  • Move to Michigan.

Title and Register a Vehicle in Michigan

If you establish residency in Michigan, you must title and register your vehicle immediately.

You have 15 days after purchasing a vehicle in Michigan to title and register.

To title and register a vehicle, ALL OWNERS OF THE VEHICLE* must visit your local SOS office and provide their:

  • Current title**. If you purchased the vehicle, be sure both buyer and seller sections have been completed.
    • Odometer disclosure must be completed if the vehicle is:
      • Under 16,000 pounds, AND
      • Under 10 years old.
  • Proof of insurance.
  • Payment for the applicable title, registration fee, and tax.

*If an owner cannot be present, they must complete an Appointment of Agent (TR-128) form and provide a photocopy of their license or ID to allow the other owner to complete the transaction on their behalf.

**If your title is being held by an out-of-state lienholder or lessee, you may present a valid or expired vehicle registration in your name OR proof of the out-of-state title in lieu of the physical title.

Michigan Title and Registration Fees

Registration fees are based on weight. Use the registration calculator found on the SOS website to determine your fee.

  • Title transfer fee: $15.
  • Instant title fee: $5.
  • Lien recording fee: $1.
  • Sales tax: 6%. Tax is not owed if the vehicle is transferred between a member of the immediate family, in-law, or guardian/ward.

All SOS offices accept:

  • Cash
  • Check
  • Money order.
  • Discover, MasterCard, Visa credit/debit cards.