Instead of waiting in line to receive the refund, the Nevada DMV has urged eligible customers to request the nominal cash amount during their next visit to the DMV offices.
“Our plan is to ask all the clients to combine the refund with the rest of the DMV businesses, a move that will help avoid a to and from trip,” Nevada DMV Director Julie Butler said.
According to the news release, eligible customers do not need an appointment or proof of payment to receive the $1 bills. Customers can visit designated customer service counters available at large DMV branches from Monday through Friday for their refunds to be verified and fulfilled. Refund requests can also be made at regular DMV counters in smaller branches.
The $1 technology fee being refunded has been applied to most DMV transactions such as state ID cards, driver’s licenses, vehicle registrations, titles, and business licenses. DMV customers will be eligible for a refund of each fee paid.
The technology fee charges ceased on May 17th, 2021, following a May 13th, 2021, decision by the Nevada Supreme Court, which upheld a district court ruling that declared Senate Bill 542 of the 2019 Legislative Session unconstitutional.
The bill, which was passed by a simple majority vote of the Nevada Legislature, would have allowed an extension of the DMV technology fee program until June 30th, 2022. However, the legislation was struck down by the state district and supreme courts, which ruled that it lacked the two-thirds majority vote required by the Nevada Constitution.
Last October, the Nevada Legislature’s Interim Finance Committee approved the DMV Technology Fee Refund Program. A cash refund was the most cost-effective way to reimburse the DMV customers. The refund program is expected to last for about a year through June 30th, 2023. According to the release, the Nevada DMV will refund about $6 million to individuals and businesses.
The release also says that individuals and businesses that did not pay the DMV Technology Fee between August 31st, 2021, and July 1st, 2022, will not receive the refund. The refunds cannot also be claimed at county assessors or treasures, emissions stations, AAA offices, or other DMV partner locations and will only be issued Monday through Friday.