Renewing a Vehicle Registration in Alabama
Renew Registration in Alabama
Alabama drivers can be penalized for driving on an expired registration. Most counties will mail a renewal notice shortly before your registration expires; however, some will not. Not receiving a renewal notice will NOT exempt you from renewing your Alabama vehicle registration on time.
In all counties, registration renewal can be completed at your county license plate issuing office. Some counties may also allow you to renew your registration online or by mail. Visit your county government website to see if these options are available to you.
In Alabama, registration expiration dates are staggered according to the first letter of your last name. For example, if your last name begins with A or D, your registration expires in January. If your last name starts with the letter B, your registration expires in February. You have until the last day of your registration month to renew your registration to avoid penalty. Leased, commercial, and fleet vehicles all expire in November.
The complete registration expiration schedule can be found here.
Renew Alabama Vehicle Registration in Person
When you renew your Alabama registration at your local county license plate issuing office, you may be asked to provide your:
- Driver’s license.
- Insurance card. The office will attempt to verify your liability insurance through the State of Alabama Online Insurance Verification System (OIVS). If they are unable to verify your insurance you must provide proof of insurance.
- Payment for the renewal fee.
Alabama Registration Renewal Fees
- Passenger vehicles, pickup trucks, and motorcycles all cost $65 to $73 to renew their tags.
- Larger vehicles (with a gross vehicle weight of 8,001 pounds and over) cost more to renew.
- Failure to renew by the expiration date will incur a $15 late fee.
See the complete fee schedule for a detailed breakdown of fees.